Rolling With The Punches

Rolling, rolling, rolling with the punches
Keep on rolling, rolling, rolling with the p-p-punches

Rolling with the punches
When your back’s against the wall
Rolling with the punches
When they trip you and you fall

Rolling with the punches
When you’re hanging on the ropes
Rolling with the punches
When they fill your head with dope!

Rolling, rolling, rolling with the punches
Keep on rolling, rolling, rolling with the p-p-punches

Rolling with the punches
When they kick you in the head
Rolling with the punches
When they fill you full of lead
Or lock you in a shed
And take away your bread

Keep on rolling with the punches
When you pee behind a tree
And get your pecker shot off
By Homeland Security!

Rolling, rolling, rolling with the punches
Keep on rolling, rolling, rolling with the p-p-punches

4 thoughts on “Rolling With The Punches

  1. First off I want to say fantastic blog! I had
    a quick question which I’d like to ask if you
    do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and
    clear your head before writing. I have had trouble clearing
    my mind in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing
    but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually
    wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Cheers!

  2. To be honest, although I have been writing in private notebooks since I was 13 or so, and even though I wrote a great deal on the Internet from 2002 to 2013 (message boards: whywork.org/forum, gortbusters.org, and another one – all now extinct by the way); lately, ever since I extracted excerpts into Dead End: A Philosophical Diary, I have kind of entered a strange phase where I prefer to babble into a recorder … or just talk to myself constantly without any damn recorder …

    When I do write, it is usually because I am facing some dilemma or crisis … it drives me to try to sort it out or calm myself. For instance, I lost my phone AGAIN and could not check up on my aging mother … It causes me distress … I was walking outdoors getting in a kind of sad poetic mood … feeling so impotent against the unknown, unable to even check in … So I returned to the domicile, cleared pots and pans from a little table in the kitchen, and put my notebook there.

    First of all, if I do write, I like to write with a special pen in a special notebook and in cursive. Only later, if I choose to, do I type what I have written in cursive.

    Of course, I am also a binge drinker, and I can’t operate a pen after a certain point …

    I have come to realize that I write as a way to endure life. Sometimes it is enough just to write by hand passages from other thinkers that strike you, and then expound on those thoughts …

    You might also try describing and exploring fragments of disturbing dreams or just how you feel about being thrown into existence without asking for it.

  3. Pingback: A Question About Writing | What Now ???

Leave a Reply

